114 doctoral theses during the years 1963-2022

At the Swedish Institute of Space Physics (IRF), basic research and postgraduate education are conducted in space physics, space technology and atmospheric physics. During the years 1963-2022, 114 doctoral theses have been completed at IRF.

Regardless of whether you are a PhD student or a senior scientist – solid and recognized knowledge is gathered here. In 1963, the first doctoral student at IRF did his dissertation and over the years, doctoral students have completed their studies at one of IRF’s four offices: Kiruna, Umeå, Uppsala and Lund.

The doctoral students have been accepted at one of the following universities:

  • Umeå University
  • Luleå University of Technology
  • Lund University
  • Uppsala University
  • Stockholm University
Moa Persson spikar avhandling.
Moa Persson, IRF and Umeå University, completed her dissertation in 2020. 

Created by Annelie Klint Nilsson at

Last modified by Annelie Klint Nilsson at